Beastmaster 3.0.8 – nerfed too hard? Well err, yes it was – see here.

I just found this just after publishing my article.

Beast Mastery is over-nerfed and could be buffed before Ulduar
We talked about it a great deal today and agreed that we probably over-nerfed BM. Marks is in a good spot and Survival might be too high once we look at the changes we are making to all other classes.

Our plan is to buff BM before Ulduar, but I can’t give you a timetable more detailed than that, and things could change for any number of reasons. We are unlikely to touch Steady Shot for the reasons I have mentioned before. We are more likely to look at Kindred Spirits and Serpents Swiftness again.

Again, huge caveats: Predicting changes we are discussing making but haven’t made yet is fraught with peril. I only wanted to address this issue because it caused a lot of consternation in the community.

I don’t mind admitting when we make a mistake in the hope that it builds our credibility in the community. This was one. It won’t be the last. (Source)

When will they buff it up again?  We have no idea.  Stick with BM for now if you like, or like me, try out a different spec while BM is languishing.  Whatever you do, don’t release your spirit beast into the wilds.

5 responses to “Beastmaster 3.0.8 – nerfed too hard? Well err, yes it was – see here.

  1. My spirit beasty is sitting very safely in the stable, poor thing.
    You will see the daylight soon!

  2. Perhaps it’s a matter of gear, but I’ve been Out DPSing Survivor Hunters in Naxx and I’m still Beast Mastery Spec. The Survival Hunters are also better geared than I am.

  3. It’s probably their rotation. Survival is definitely higher dps than Beast master right now.

  4. Survival is only higher when a GOOD hunter plays it. Once they know the rotations, and can dance the dance they can out DPS BM, but hey, I’m BM through and through, so I’ll wait it out!
    Sy

  5. Tyler(aka Mclovinurmom on frostwolf)

    Wow. That article blew my mind, I had no idea that they nerfed BM so hard so that was a surprise to me. As I have said before BM was my other half while leveling and some leveling. It sucks that they did that to you guys. As for SV hunters hope they dont do that to us because then I will have to resort to MM. I personaly just cant play MM. Its just not me. But hope they give you guys back they beasty spirits.:) :) :)