WOTLK spoiler screenshots – landscapes and artwork

I am one of the explorers of WOW.  I like to solo, and ride off into the unknown exploring new areas.  Part of the reason I like to do this, is that I love the visuals of the landscapes and the art work that has gone into the design of the landscapes.  And boy! Northrend does not disappoint.  The landscapes are absolutely beautiful.

I have heard it said that overall, Northrend is about half snowy, half non-snowy.  This looks to be the case.  The areas I have visited so far, all mirror a northern cold environment, but still manage to be different and changing.  There are icebergs and icefloes, snowfields, tundra, giant redwood forests, gnarled old deciduous trees covered in ice, and many changes of level.  

The colors too are very different from Azeroth or Outland too.  More muted and realistic, but at the same time with a richer classic fantasy or gothic feel to them.  Some of the design reminds me of fantasy art of Arthur Rackham and some of the Tolkien artists like Alan Lee.

Anyway, I will be posting screenshots here showcasing some of the landscapes.  Check back, as I will be updating this post.

(Again, click on each picture to see the full screenshot, I need to fix the cutting of pictures on my blog, still a work in progress).

 

I should make a note of where these are in future - I think this was up in the Grizzly hills

I should make a note of where these are in future - I think this was up in the Grizzly hills

Dragonblight mature forest

Grizzly Hills - or Yellowstone Park in the Snow

 

Shoveltusks grazing the Borean Tundra

Shoveltusks grazing the Borean Tundra

 

On the ancient lift - howling fjord

On the ancient lift - howling fjord

 

Tuskar, orca, icefloes, and the aurora borealis

Tuskar, orca, icefloes, and the aurora borealis

One response to “WOTLK spoiler screenshots – landscapes and artwork

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.