Unusual ghostly pets – sans spirit beast

hydrapetNot have the patience to hunt the spirit beast, but would like an unusual ghostly pet?  What about these?  The random daily quest from the Oracle faction in Sholazar BasinCleansing Song – requires you to summon and kill three ghostly creatures.  One is a giant crocolisk, another looks like a slime and a third a white hydra.  They are all tameable and all count as croclisks under beastlore, having the family skill Bad Attitude.  The other nice thing about them is they are level 80, so for level 80 players there is no pet leveling required.

 

slimepetI tamed both the hydra and the slime.  They both shrink significantly when tamed, the slime particularly makes a very small pet, if you like small.  I messed up the hydra tame initially, as Anelf pre-healed me and then whacked in another heal, so the hydra very sensibly decided to take out the healer.  It was also semi-resistant to freeze traps – being frozen successfully by one out of three.  It has a knock-back (untamed), which interrupts the taming, so if you get knocked back you have to begin again.  Both it and the slime also have a poison dot, which did quite a bit of damage while I was taming.  The slime stands at a distance and shoots its poison so it’s harder to pull it into a waiting trap.  Better to drop one on its head to begin the taming.

Not sure if I will keep them, but they make interesting and unusual pets.

9 responses to “Unusual ghostly pets – sans spirit beast

  1. I’ve tamed all three pets myself, and after one instance run with the Hydra, i had to let him go. The noises he constantly makes annoyed the whole party. Considering all three have the same skills, on my server the slime was unique for a long while.. and so i stuck with that.

  2. For all you hunters that have tamed one of the beasties: I have heard getting quest “Cleansing Song” is dependent upon time of day you visit Oracle. If this is true PLEASE post time of day. I have been 6pm, midnight, 4am so far with no luck! Thank you in advance!

  3. just getting some advertisement for something i put on an old post that i think steady shot and anyone who really looks here often, i just did a survey on pet family skills and got some interesting results, check it out on the post,”choosing your pets for wotlk” and no, my real name isent blank

  4. Thanks for posting the info ‘blank’ :-).

  5. yes i thought i should say something about it on active post and no blank isent my name, and i thought it was interesting that the feriocity pets had family skills that dident even do as much damage as some of the cunning pets family skills, im sure there normal auto attack does enough damage to make up for that though.

  6. oh btw i like the misdirect macro u made, now even my loyal kitty can hold aggro through an entire fight on a normal mob, very useful for now bm hunters like me and all the other mm. but for some reason alot of my macro’s and pet abilities are acting up, it wont do multiple spells, i tried to do a macro recently for my entire 7 shot rotation but when i started with my aimed shot that was all that it would do, the other 6 would not seem to continue, any ideas on that, also about my pet abilities, my prowl and lick your wounds, even though i have them set for me to manualy activate they just randomly go off, any news on the beta about that (still cant get the dang beta to work on my awsome macbook)

  7. non bm hunters* and my entire shot rotation (besides hunter mark and misdirect macro, prowl pet attack etc) is aimed shot, concussive shot, serpent sting, steady shot, chimera shot, and if allowed or my targets not already dead, killshot

  8. oh and also, alot of people not just hunters have been complaining about pet behaviors while in water, i just noticed this myself while farming in wetlands for cooking, it seems when in water pets just start acting up, not folowing and going off, attacking targets randomly while in passive, and even warlock and dk pets and even some novelty pets are experiencing the same type of thing, any word on that

  9. oh and also, alot of people not just hunters have been complaining about pet behaviors while in water, i just noticed this myself while farming in wetlands for cooking, it seems when in water pets just start acting up, not folowing and going off, attacking targets randomly while in passive, and even warlock and dk pets and even some novelty pets are experiencing the same type of thing, any word on that