Patch 3.0.9 BM Hunters getting a small boost

Patch 3.0.9 goes live today.  You can view all the changes here.  

The patch includes a small boost for BM hunters, following Blizz’s admission that they nerfed them too far:

  • Kindred Spirits (Beast Mastery): This talent now grants 20% pet damage at max rank.
  • Serpent’s Swiftness (Beast Mastery): This talent now grants 20% pet attack speed at max rank

If memory serves, both of these are a return to pre-nerf numbers.  Both are deep in the BM tree, so are only accessible to deep BM hunters not MM or Surv hunters dipping into the tree.  Your pet will not be back to pre-3.0.8 ‘the great hunter nerf’ levels, Unleash Fury, which is accessible to MM and Surv hunter is still only 15% extra pet damage (down from its original 20%) when maxed out, plus cats and scorpid nerfs, for those who use them, haven’t been reversed.  Also, a couple of your pvp orientated pets have had their family skills nerfed:

  • Lava Breath now reduces the target’s casting speed by 25%, down from 50%.
  • Poison Spit now reduces the target’s casting speed by 25%, down from 50%.

That is it for hunter changes.  The other notable bug fix for me was:

  • Fixed a player movement error in which other players were appearing to move erratically when traveling beside them.

4 responses to “Patch 3.0.9 BM Hunters getting a small boost

  1. So I’m taking it, BM still won’t have the viability it did pre-3.0.8. Sounds like Blizz is too proud to give Hunters back what they shouldn’t have taken away in the first place.
    I’m SV now – regrettably so, because my Loque’nahak has been in a REALLY bad mood having to sit in the stables since the patch.
    I would be interested to compare the numbers pre-3.0.8 and post-3.0.9.

    Phoresight

  2. Is it just me or are pets eating more food to keep them happy since the last patch? I used to hardly need to feed my pet but went through half a stack just doing the Love is in the Air stuff. No comabt at all! I wonder whether it was an un-documented change or just me!

  3. I’m with Phoresight on this one. After the 3.0.8 nerf beatdown on hunters i swopped to survival too. Though i enjoy the burst damage of explosive shot im missing the numbers i use to put up on dps charts. Now we have to sit and watch as mages unfold to become the dominant dps in wotlk, atleast for now. I don’t mind staying SV as long as they buff it up a little. And another thing, is it just me or is MM almost useless?

  4. belive u me mm is not useless u can easily top the dps charts if u know how to use it